In Virginia, there are laws that make it apparent that no one should be operating a vehicle without a driver’s license. Laws such as §46.2-300 explicitly state that no one without a license should be operating a vehicle on Virginia roads. While most understand this as common knowledge, there have been individuals not knowing of these laws when receiving a ticket.
Even those who move from out of state must go through the proper procedures of acquiring a Virginia license. Those who choose not to can potentially receive a citation from police officers. While most do not realize the full extent of Virginia’s strict laws, they will once they are stopped for simple incidents such as a broken headlight.
Driving Without A License In Virginia
Driving without a license in Virginia is a criminal offense, and authorities classify it as a misdemeanor. This means that those who choose to drive without a license can end up in jail. The offender may have to pay fines as well, and the offense can be detrimental to a person’s life. After being charged with this offense, the person may have difficulty searching for a job or apartment.
Contacting a traffic defense attorney who practices criminal defense is the best route for those accused of driving without a license. These attorneys can help in many ways. They bring with them the possibility of having the charge lessened in severity or even dismissed outright. If a person were to be convicted, the attorney can request the judge enforce the minimum punishment for their client.
Situations Where Licenses Aren’t Required
While Virginia holds very strict driving laws, there are some situations where no license is needed. A common example is that a person does not need a license to operate farm equipment off the road. Other common situations where a driver does not need a Virginia license to operate a vehicle include:
- Military personnel operating military vehicles
- New residents in Virginia with licenses registered in their previous home state
- Licensed individuals visiting from other states
Penalties For Driving Without A License
Choosing to drive without a license in Virginia can bring forth many negative consequences. Authorities consider the crime a Class 2 felony, and a person can spend up to six months in jail. The offender may have to pay a fine of up to $1,000 as well. A second offense of driving without a license can result in up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine for the offender. The charged party may have their license suspended for up to one year, a detrimental consequence.
Defense Against Driving Without A License
If a person is charged with driving without a license in Virginia, they should seek out legal counsel. An experienced traffic defense attorney has the ability to greatly help someone in this position. If the driver was not a resident of Virginia when the officer made an arrest, this can be used as a defense.
In Virginia, residency does not become immediate when someone moves here. Residents must be in Virginia a minimum of 60 days to be considered an official Virginia resident. Those 60 days act as an amnesty period and can be used as a defense in driving without a license charge.
Contact An Experienced Traffic Defense Attorney Today
Have you been charged with driving without a license in Virginia? If so, do not hesitate to contact the Law Offices of Kermit A. Monge, PLLC. Our team of experienced traffic defense attorneys are here to fight in your corner, so you can receive the best possible outcome.
If you are interested in speaking with one of our Fairfax traffic defense attorneys, call our office at 703.273.5500 or request a consultation online today.